runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

A.P. McCoy

As the sun sets on an amazing career, the Telegraph yesterday reflected on the racing legend that is Tony McCoy. He will race his final race at Sandown tomorrow.

DSCN2609

I rather liked this photo I took from the plane yesterday as we flew out of Amsterdam, kind of sums up the situation quite well with McCoy’s face reflected in the plane window.

I’m not a big racing fan, I’ve only been to the races once and I’m certainly not somebody who bets but I did wonder whether, if you had bet, say £10, on every race that Tony McCoy had been in whether you would have made or lost money. Many somebody has worked it out but, with 4000 winners by November 2013, I think that you probably won’t have done too badly.

I heard him being interviewed on Radio 5 before the Grand National, he had no idea what he was going to do once he had retired! I suspect that we haven’t heard the last from him though.

2 comments on “A.P. McCoy

  1. mrscotney
    April 25, 2015

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs-magazine-monitor-31983951

    You’d be well down – about £17000 for £10 a race! His odds would be shorter because he wins so much, and in any event, he probably only wins at best on one fifth of his rides!

    Like

    • runmaggiecooper
      April 25, 2015

      Well luckily I didn’t waste £17,000 then and I didn’t even waste a tenner today!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 24, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , .
