runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

We’re feeling blue today

Yesterday it was sunny. There was a sense of excitement in the air and we all got our chance to vote.

Today all that has changed, it’s been a miserable day and I got soaking wet going to pick up the kids.

  
Did anybody else notice that the more seats that the Condevatives got, the worse the weather got? At this rate we’ll have 5 years of storms. 

I did, however, predict a Conservative win. I just wasn’t expecting it to be quite so convincing. It wasn’t the win, per se, that depressed me but more the fact that there doesn’t seem to be a credible opposition anymore. Nobody to temper the Tories. I’m not sure that that is healthy for our country.

I wasn’t surprised by the win because I’ve discussed politics with a lot of different people over the past couple of weeks – probably bored most of them half to death. The overwhelming opinion, even from traditionally Labour voters was that they weren’t convinced by Labour or by any of the other parties. I guess that only in Scotland, where the SNP swept everyone else aside was there any passion to go with the politics.

I also read the manifestos and, although I couldn’t actually bring myself to vote Conservative, of the three main parties (not counting UKIP) their manifesto was the most convincing – in spite of the impossibly small font size. Also, I got the feeling that many were prepared to give the Conservatives the benefit of the doubt and let them have another five years. 

The problem with reading the policies alone though is that they don’t tell you the whole story. They don’t tell you how committed the parties really are to helping the poor or the deprived in our society, they don’t tell you how honest their politicians are, they don’t tell you how competent their MPs are or whether they will let power go to their heads (as we have seen too many times in the past). I hoped that there would still be some sort of coalition to keep the government in check. But it all turned blue – like the weather.

At least one good thing is that the rain will be good for our newly seeded lawn. They finally got round to putting down the grass seed today. 

 
Sadly though, I didn’t get home in time to go to the gym to run on the treadmill and, being a bit of a fair-weather athlete, I wasn’t about to go running in the pouring rain. So no run today. Hopefully things will have cheered up a bit by tomorrow. 

One comment on “We’re feeling blue today

  1. notmuchofarunner
    May 9, 2015

    The forecast doesn’t look good for the country, does it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 8, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , .
