runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Early start

Daniel woke me up at 5:45 this morning. This would have been perfect timing had it been a work day – but it wasn’t. That meant that it was almost impossible to get properly back to sleep after I’d given him some milk to drink because my body is so used to being awake at that time of day. 

At about 6:30, I gave up and got up. This did give me the distinct advantage of having my breakfast in peace and quiet and not in a mad rush for a change but I would rather have been asleep.

By 7:30 only Dominic was awake so I decided to go for a run in spite of the weather – which didn’t look at all favourable.

It seems that most people were still in bed because it was particularly quiet.

  
Or perhaps they realised that it was a trifle windy out and it was more sensible to stay inside.

But then I spotted another mad person out running…

  
….and wondered if perhaps it would have been nicer to run on the beach, which it is apart from the fact that you can’t go very far without either getting wet feet or having to tip toe through the rocks.

For some strange reason the wind seemed to be in my face in both directions on my out and back course but it must actually have been more in my favour on my return because I ran back about 20 sec per mile faster than I ran out.  
  
I thought I’d got away with my interval session on the treadmill on Thursday because my legs seemed fine just wandering around yesterday but it turned out that my hamstrings were quite tight. Maybe I ought to do some stretching next time!

Total distance was a mere 3.7 miles just under 29 min. I’m going to have to start increasing the miles again soon but it wasn’t a bad week’s running all things considered.

We had a good time at the ferry port later this afternoon and Peter and I managed to escape from the children by putting them on their own table!

 
Then, on the way back, we found a small park that we didn’t even know existed.

 
And Dominic found a tree to climb as part of his “50 things to do before you’re 11 3/4” (see national trust.org.uk/50thingstodo). Now we have to find a really big hill to roll down.

  

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
