runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Penguin cake and kids’ party

Firstly, and most importantly, I did actually run today. It wasn’t very far (3 miles) and it wasn’t very fast (24:32) but it was a run. And, in spite of me previously saying that I wouldn’t bother to mention the wind, I will report that it was particularly windy out there. 

However, before I left for my run, I started to ice the birthday cake for Naomi’s birthday party. Then when I got back I had a quick shower and went to pick up my friend, Michelle, from the station. Michelle, like me, works with radioactive drugs. Like me, she is not skilled in the art of children’s birthday cakes. The remit was to make a cake suitable for a penguin mad daughter. Between us, this is what we came up with.

  
That took two people with PhD’s about an hour to do! Underneath all that icing is quite a good chocolate cake – the cooking bit isn’t so testing as it’s really just chemistry isn’t it?!

One of the parents asked me afterwards how the party had gone. The fact that I survived, relatively free of stress, and all the kids seemed to have had a good time means that it must have been a success.  

  

Also, none of the kids cried and nobody got hurt. I don’t have high expectations for children’s parties.

After the party most of the kids, including Naomi, went off to another friend’s house. I felt a bit bad for the mum because she ended up with a house full of excited kids whereas I hadn’t had any kids near my house because the party was at the soft play centre.

Michelle and I went into Liverpool to have a look around and to collect Naomi. We decided to visit the Metropolitan cathedral. Even though we’ve now lived in the area for more than 6 months, I haven’t actually been inside the cathedral before.

It is definitely worth the visit and we didn’t really have time to do it justice. There are lots of interesting artefacts and artwork. I love the coloured glass in the windows and how the light changes as the sun moves and the baldachino above the altar which reminds me of the ‘crown of thorns’.

  

We also took a look at the crypt and learnt a bit about the history of the cathedral. They had some very ornate robes and chalices down there too which were pretty impressive. 

We managed to find Naomi’s friend’s house and, because the weather was so nice, we decided to take Michelle to see our very own local attraction, New Brighton.

  
As you can tell from the photo, it was still windy but at least I wasn’t trying to run with it in my face. 

A lovely meal sealed off a great day.

  

Leave a Reply

