runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Afternoon sunshine 

After two quite hard days of running I opted for an easier run rather than doing a speed session on the treadmill. I have to say that my decision was strongly influenced by the fact that the weather was beautiful. So I headed for Birkenhead Park.

I certainly wasn’t the only one that had that idea, I saw quite a few runners out and about today and lots of people simply taking in the sunshine – you’ve got to get out there while you can because you don’t know how long it will last.

 

One of the two lakes in Birkenhrhead Park


My legs felt a bit stiff to start with so I set off fairly gently but I was pleased to find that that gentle pace was only just over 8 min per mile. Each mile after that got progressively quicker without me deliberately speeding up (7:50, 7:43, 7:34) until the mile where I left the park and had to cross several roads (7:46) but then I finished well (7:32).
The average pace for 6.32 miles was 7:45 which I thought was pretty good for an easy run as I would have been happy with that pace for a steady run a few weeks ago.

I was pleased to get in another decent distanced run too. I will soon have to consider going a little further but I’m not entirely sure if or when I can fit it is as there isn’t enough time in the day as it is! 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2015 by and tagged , , , .
