runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Power failure

Having totally failed to go running yesterday, I thought that I’d better make a bit more of an effort today. I didn’t feel quite up to doing speed work on the treadmill so I set off along the prom instead with my iPhone set to play the MarathonTalk podcast and a spring in my step – well not that much of a spring to be fair but I set off at a nice easy pace.

I was going along pretty well so I decided to run through New Brighton and out the other side about the same distance again. At least I knew that the wind would be mainly at my back coming home but the clouds were a bit threatening. I considered going a bit further but decided it was best to turn around at the end of the prom after 3.7 miles.


I was going along nicely at just under 8 min per mile and enjoying the podcast. I was just getting into them talking about the Comrades marathon when suddenly there was silence. The iPhone had run out of battery! If I had had my wits about me then I would have thought about starting my stopwatch at that moment – but I didn’t. However, I wasn’t completely incompetent because I did start it at my normal turn around point so that there wasn’t much of the run that was un-timed.

At little bit of maths when I got home suggested that I took just about 58 min to cover 7.34 miles, which I think is 7:54 per mile.

I was still getting pretty tired in the last mile or so but I think I’m getting more used to these slightly longer distances tomorrow. Hopefully I can get some decent mileage in tomorrow too.

Yesterday, the Tipsy Runner nominated me for the Creative Blogger Award, which was rather sweet of her. She does a great blog and it looks like she makes some pretty mean cupcakes too.

Anyway, these are the rules for the award

Here are the rules for the award:

1. Thank and post the link of the blog that nominated you.

2. Share five facts about yourself to your readers.

3. Nominate 10 other blogs and post their links.

4. Notify all nominees via their social media/blogs.

5. Pass these rules on to them.

So, I can tick off number 1 – check out those links!

Rule 2 is share 5 facts about yourself to your readers:

Well, if you’ve been reading the blog then you probably know some, if not all of these already but here goes:

1. I run quite a lot. I would like to run a bit more but fact 2 makes running a bit tricky. I’m not too bad at running although I’m not all that fit right now but I have actually won a couple of marathons. These are some of the trophies that I’ve acquired over the years.

  
2. I have three children

  
3. I work with radioactive drugs

  
4. I don’t really do chain letter type things. If you’d nominated me for the ‘ice bucket’ challenge then you would have found that I remained silent, if you sent me one of those Facebook posts that said pass this on to 5 wonderful people in your life then you would have been surprised if that message popped up on your timeline from me. I just don’t do those things. Life is too short.

However, I will mention a couple of blogs that I really like.

Notmuchofarunner is pretty funny and sometimes he has some good photos – check the rainbow on this one.

Gentle strides of wishful thinking has some good stuff

Dr. Juliet is pretty good and I like that she’s a GP (I’m a pharmacist) and that she is a mum and runs – so plenty in common

I also like Justin Horneker who not only writes well but is encouraging in his support of other bloggers

The Nineth life is a Christian lady with a lot of interesting things to say and from a science perspective Dynamic Ecology makes for an interesting read.

I really need to find a few more blogs to follow. I like ones that relate in some way to my life (running, science, motherhood, cooking, Christianity etc.) and it helps if they are funny but I think I really need to branch out more and find some other stuff but number 2 on my earlier list makes it difficult to find the time to search through the multitude of excellent blogs out there. I’m open to good suggestions though – could be anything: politics, sport, history, art, music, philosophy etc.

3 comments on “Power failure

  1. notmuchofarunner
    June 9, 2015

    I’m even less of a one for chain type stuff, so I will probably be ‘very naughty’ and have the chain break off with me, but having said that, I enjoyed what you wrote, will check out some of blogs you mentioned and I will make an effort to link to a few of my faves over the next week or so too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. notmuchofarunner
    June 9, 2015

    P.S. Here’s a charger we could all do with sometimes 😉
    https://notmuchofarunner.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/willpower-no-power-wont/

    Like

  3. Pingback: Ten(ish) out of ten | notmuchofarunner

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 9, 2015 by and tagged , , , , .
