runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Debating

Dominic has joined an after school debating club. They were debating whether it was worth doing space exploration. 

However, I wasn’t sure what to do with Naomi while they were debating. There was an hour and a half between the end of school and when I had to go back to get Dominic. There was no point in going home because it would take too long so I rather hoped that Naomi would be able to go to her friend’s house so that I could go for a run. However, her friend’s dad teaches in the school and it just so happens that on Monday’s he has to take detention. So that meant Naomi would have to wait around for an hour before going to their house, which wasn’t very satisfactory. So, in the end, we went to the park and got ice creams. 

   
and played

  
We made it back to the school before Dominic came out. It turned out that he ended up having to argue against space exploration whereas he was actually in favour of it. He had to do the closing statement. When it came to the vote it was 8:4 against space exploration. So I guess that must mean he was relatively convincing in his argument. 

When we got back I didn’t feel much like going running even though I was already changed. A cup of tea later and I decided I really ought get out.

I was running OK along the prom and with the wind at my back on the way home, I put in a swift mile or so. It’s only 3.7 miles but completed at 7:23 per mile pace. I would still have preferred to have run around the park earlier though.

Next week they are debating animal testing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , .
