runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Minions 

We had decided to go to the ‘other’ church this morning. By the other church I mean the other one that Peter is vicar of. We have been before but not for a while. They meet in a local primary school but hopefully they will soon move back into the proper church building.

I ordered some Sunday School material to do with the kids so that they wouldn’t get bored in the service and so that we could have an actual proper Sunday School for a change. There was little chance that there would be any other kids there as the average age of the congregation is about 75! However, as it happened, Sue had her grandchildren with her but they were a little too young for the Sunday School, so it was just my kids, which was OK and we had a pretty good time. We did about Elijah and the widow whose oil and flour never ran out during the drought.

The service starts at 9:45 so we were pretty much done by 11. As I knew that we’d be finished quite early and that Peter would be busy until at least lunchtime, I had looked up the film times at the local cinema and found that the Minions film was on at 11:30 so after the service, I packed everybody into the car and off we went.

 
I love going to the cinema. It doesn’t matter too much if the film is rubbish either. I love the whole thing, getting the pick and mix sweets, the popcorn, the drinks, finding the seats, watching the ads (the Pearl and Dean music!), the trailers and then the hush of excitement as the lights go down and the film starts – by which time I’ve normally eaten all the sweets.

 
I asked Daniel if he liked the film, he said “I like Kevin” so I think that was a yes. By the way, he is attempting to smile for the camera, I think the other two are trying to look nonchalant. I liked Bob and also the Queen down the pub.

The film was actually quite good fun with some laugh out loud bits. The kids did seem to enjoy it. When I asked Dominic what he thought he said 9 out of 10.

I actually managed to get a run in today, just along the prom to New Brighton and back. As I went down the slope to the river, I saw a cruise ship coming out of the Liverpool dock. I thought I would take a picture of it on my way back but, to my surprise, it overtook me!

 
I managed to get a quick photo at the turn around point. I didn’t want to stop before that point so I ran pretty quick so that the ship didn’t get too far ahead. Even though it was against the wind, it turned out to be my fastest mile. I should have competition more often. It was a good speed overall as a result (7:20 per mile for 3.7 miles).
I tried out my new magic tin opener that I got yesterday at the church fair. I couldn’t get it to work. It could be that the batteries I put in are a bit flat. I ended up having to get Peter to open the tin with the emergency camping tin opener. 

  
I will not be thwarted though. I’m sure that somebody will have posted a YouTube video on how to use it and I probably just need new batteries. I guess I could just buy a new tin opener – but where’s the fun in that?!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
