runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Back to Brum

New Street station is a nightmare. I’m sure it will be great when they finish but, for the time being, it’s a bit of lottery where you’ll come out of the station and where you’ll be able to go from there.

  
I wanted to go up Corporation Street towards Aston University but found myself heading towards the Bullring instead. When I emerged I just about recognised where I was and where I wanted to go. 

Birmingham City centre has changed beyond recognition in the 25 years since I left university – generally for the better. It seems more American and less 1970’s Britain.

I had to go to a UK Radiopharmacy Group meeting today. It was good to see old friends again and a useful meeting. I think I accidentally volunteered myself for a few too many things but it is better to be involved than to sit on the sidelines in my opinion.

  
I would have like to run some of my old routes. This one in particular was one of my favourites down all those locks. 

I used to run along the canals with the head of the pharmacy department. We had a good route that took us up to Spaghetti Junction. There were some pretty inhospitable bits though and I worried about dogs mostly (although they generally just barked at us from the other side of the canal) but one day there was a man with a gun – I just ran past and hoped he wasn’t crazy.

  
I walked back through what used to be a cheap market. The market stalls weren’t there but there were deck chairs set out with a bar and a big screen showing the tennis. Murray was just breaking Pospisil in the third set but only about two people were watching.

  
I managed to find my way back to New Street with little problem in spite of the fact that the iPhone kept trying to tell me to go a different way. However, since it had earlier tried to get me to walk through a building, I ignored it.

I’m still reading the book about European economics by Philipe Legrain. Well, I’m kind of listening to it on the kindle. I used the Kindle Fire today because it is a bit smaller and was intrigued to find that the voice had a very British accent rather than an American one like the older Kindle does. Strangely I did find it easier to understand, especially since I was playing it at 1.5x speed. It can’t cope with the reference numbers though and tries to incorporate them into the next sentence so it can be a tad confusing if you aren’t following along. For example, it will say something like 450 British taxpayers…. But the 450 is the reference number not the number of taxpayers!

4 comments on “Back to Brum

  1. bradleypvfc
    July 8, 2015

    Just had a read through your blog post, I’m also a fan of tennis, also enjoying Wimbledon. Hope your are too! Looking forward to seeing more of your blog posts.
    Would appreciate a follow back. Thanks!

    ^BS

    Like

    • runmaggiecooper
      July 8, 2015

      Thanks. Some good games today especially that last quarter final.

      Liked by 1 person

      • bradleypvfc
        July 8, 2015

        Yes, sure are! I’m looking forward for tomorrow’s semi-final! Especially Serena vs Sharapova, what a match that’ll be!

        Like

  2. JoeM
    July 8, 2015

    They still haven’t finished New Street Station? I was there a couple of years ago and they were building but I’d assumed it’d be finished by now. Great post though, I had a good reminisce!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 8, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
