runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

I can breathe again 

It’s been an interesting day. After being in Birmingham for a couple of days, my breathing seemed to be manageable. It was still causing me problems but it wasn’t getting worse. I still didn’t feel like I could run but at least I thought about running.

I had decided that I would try to get to the doctor’s today anyway whatever I felt like, that’s if I could get an appointment. Apparently there is a narrow window of opportunity when you can ring between about 8:00 and 8:10 to get an appointment. 

Having cycled to the station and walked from Lime Street to work, I felt terrible. Even just standing up was an effort. The air in Liverpool was obviously affecting me much more than the Birmingham air.

I rang the doctor but they wouldn’t give me an appointment because we had failed to fill in some form. That was a bit strange because I had sent Peter with all our details some weeks ago and he had registered us – or so we thought. Apparently, that was a pre-registration!

In the meantime. I thought it unlikely that I would make it through the weekend without ending up in A&E as my breathing was so bad. I didn’t think I would be able to cycle back from the station without passing out so I got Peter to pick me up.

So once we got home, I went to the doctor in person and caused enough fuss to get an appointment! I think I would have just had to act collapsing or something if they had refused to let me see a doctor. 

However, the doctor could find nothing wrong with me! My peak flow was normal, I wasn’t wheezing, my blood oxygen saturation was fine and my heart sounded fine (although I could tell it was working incredibly hard) and it still felt like somebody was sitting on my chest and I felt completely exhausted.

Perhaps this is what most people feel like all the time. That would explain a lot.

Anyway, I persuaded him that I was far from fine and most likely I had an allergy to something in the air. He gave me a salbutamol inhaler. It was like magic. I can now breathe almost normally. At least it doesn’t feel like somebody is trying to squeeze my airways.

  
Daniel enjoyed doing some painting this evening. The paints have an intense smell, I don’t imagine that they are all that good for you but at least by that stage I could actually breathe in the smell that they were emitting.

My bike was still at the station so I had to walk there to pick it up! In spite of the walk and the cycle, I still feel OK. I might start using that inhaler even when my breathing is normal, it’s great.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 10, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , .
