runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

I need conditioning

I had to have my blood taken this afternoon. I don’t think there is anything wrong with my blood (but no harm checking) it was my breathing that there was a problem with. The doctor thought it would be a good idea to check that there wasn’t another underlying reason (apart from the Liverpool air) that was causing me to feel so terrible last week. Anyway, I was a bit surprised because the very nice nurse who took my blood was a man in his late fifties or early sixties. I just presumed the nurse would be a woman. 

The nurse was great and he reminded me of the excellent midwife I had for my first two children. His name was Howard and, unfortunately, he had retired by the time I had Daniel. He had a lovely manner, put me at my ease thoughout my pregnancies and was also a really interesting character having worked in emergency management in South Africa before training as a midwife. We hardly ever spent much time discussing the new born baby but he probably spent longer than he was meant to at our house chatting about other things. None of the female midwives I saw during my third pregnancy were a patch on him. Women nurses are great in general, the ones in our department in particular are wonderful, but I wonder why there are so few men in the profession, after all it is an excellent, highly rewarding job.

  
I seem to be breathing more normally again and, since I managed to miss the off-peak time at the gym, I decided to run along the prom. It was warm and windy. My slightly stiff legs reminded me that I really ought to do some stretching. 

I was listening to an Another Mother Runner podcast where they were interviewing a man from Saucony (who make running shoes). He was talking about things like how you put your foot down, whether you bend your knee on impact, whether you are a heel striker or not, whether you run heavily or lightly, whether you pronate or not. The whole run I was overanalysing my running style, which isn’t as beautiful as I would like it to be. 

Anyway, the podcast also made me think that I should be doing more of those conditioning exercises, even simple things like balancing on one leg. I know that these types of exercises can really improve technique and prevent injury. I just never seem to get round to that sort of thing – I could have been doing that when I couldn’t breathe last week! I think I need a bit of inspiration on this front though because I am too unsupple to dare to be seen at a Pilates class but need to do something that isn’t going to bore me to tears.

The run wasn’t too bad 7:35 per mile for 3.7 miles. The Razzle Dazzle Mersey ferry was just coming in as I headed back to Seacombe, you can just about see it in the photo.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 14, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
