runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Stepping up

I’m now in the second week of the Nike Training Club workouts. In order not to wear out the carpet on the bottom stair I invested in a simple stepper.

  
Unfortunately, Daniel seemed to think that it was a tunnel for his marbles.

  
Naomi had a go – she did 10 step-ups. Unfortunately my workout had me stepping for a minute each time for 3 sets which was a bit more effort. I have to say that it was considerably less fun doing this workout without the kids this week. I think I will have to do a bit more encouraging to get them involved. It was still good though and I was much better at the ‘hollow body’ (which works the abs) than last week. I quite like this particular workout because it is a good mixture of things that I can do and things that I can’t really do. 

Tomorrow I have to run a mile and time it. This is to set a bench mark for improvement over the coming weeks. I’m in two minds whether to do it on the treadmill or outside.

I did remember to do a bit of stretching after the workout this time so I’m rather hoping my calves won’t be really stiff tomorrow. I also did 1 mile warm-up and 1 mile warm down so I’m optimistic that I won’t be too stiff.

  
The kids were happier playing in the sand pit. I’m not convinced that there isn’t more sand out of the sand pit than in it now, including in the kitchen!

The weather isn’t much better. The sun came out temporarily but even my work colleagues admitted that they had put the heating on at the weekend. 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 28, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
