runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Are burpees evil?

I decided to convert the garage into a mini-gym. When I say ‘convert’ you might imagine some sort of building work or actually some kind of effort. However, the conversion was just clearing a bit of space and putting some cardboard down so that I had something other than concrete to do the floor exercises on.

Today was 30 min of exercises in the Get Lean section of the Nike Training Club app. However I was only on beginner level so it wasn’t too awful. I’m still wondering if some of the exercises are physically possible. I also had to stop a couple of times to work out how to get into a particular position and then when I changed leg I had to look again but I couldn’t remember which leg I had done so I might have done the same leg twice.

What I did find though was that I am absolutely terrible at burpees, in particular the squat thrust part of them. I found myself stuck in the squat position unable to build up enough energy to force my legs back. I don’t think I’ve done a burpee for about 30 years and I don’t remember them being that bad although I was never all that good at them but they are positively evil. I thought I’d be able to do the aerobic type exercises in this workout but I was useless at burpees. I’m definitely going to have to practice some more.

DSCN3256

I might actually try to do a decent length run tomorrow as I feel this week has been a bit low on mileage. The training programme isn’t big on running in spite of the fact that you are meant to be able to run a mile fast by the end of it. I guess that for most people the amount of running included is probably more than adequate.

This evening I set about making a short (10 min) podcast with my husband about my training. He’s a bit of a whizz at the podcasting thing (you will have to look up Daily Devotional Preaching to hear a daily podcast from him and he does a few other shows with some of his friends). Anyway, the good thing was that he knew how to record it and upload it – which was possibly beyond me or at least beyond my ability not to get mad at the computer because it wouldn’t do what I wanted it to do. Anyway, here’s the link to my podcast. Let me know what you think. I’m hoping to put something up about this time each week so hopefully I will improve too!

 Click here to listen

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
