runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Define those arms

For a brief moment this afternoon, I thought that summer had finally arrived. I set out on my run with the sun blazing and a breeze at my back and wondered whether perhaps I was over-dressed in my short sleeved top and capri pants. 

The aim was 6 miles and then I had to do the Nike Training Club exercises. I thought ‘arm definer’ sounded a bit ominous for somebody with my pea-sized biceps and non-existent triceps but that would have to wait until after the run.

So, because I was in too much of a hurry to plan another route, I ran along the prom towards New Brighton. The wind was mainly at my back and the sun was shining. However, it didn’t last long and, by the time I turned to go round the head of the Wirral at New Brighton, the sky had clouded over and the wind was well and truly in my face. 

  
I was maintaining a good consistent pace though and despite my legs being a little stiff, I was going OK. 

It was definitely easier coming back, until I turned back past New Brighton and got the wind more in my face again. I still managed to keep the pace though, which I was happy about. So, 6 miles completed at 7:31 per mile was quite encouraging.

Then I had to do the dreaded arm exercises. Press ups are not my favourite and I had to do them for a whole minute three times. Actually I was supposed to do them with a medicine ball but, funnily enough, I don’t have a medicine ball hanging around my house, so I did them without. The other exercises were OK but tomorrow it will be 30 min of high intensity exercises so I better remember to stretch. 

2 comments on “Define those arms

  1. Diane
    August 4, 2015

    How you have the time and thoughts to write your experiences amazes me. You have more than enough over the years to write an interesting autobiography.

    Like

    • runmaggiecooper
      August 4, 2015

      I worry sometimes that the blogs are a bit boring because I’m trying to do something else like cook the tea or watch a film with the kids (yesterday E.T.) at the same time so I’m not really focused but it’s fun and I hope others enjoy it too. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
