runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Grumpy Goldfish

I was not a happy bunny this morning. I could smell it before I opened the door. What you really don’t want to be faced with at 6 in the morning, especially if you need to get your lunch packed, breakfast eaten and to be out of the door by 6:30, is a pile of poo. Such is life and it probably wasn’t entirely the dog’s fault as he was woken at 4:30 by Peter getting some milk for Daniel and it would probably have been a good idea to let him out having woken him. He did look a bit sheepish as I cleared it up though, like he knew I was annoyed with him.

On the radio this morning they were talking about real ales and what they should be called. They suggested that the first part should be how you felt this morning and the second part should be your first pet (dog, cat etc). My ale was called “Grumpy Goldfish”. I didn’t feel quite so grumpy when I told my friend at work about our canine disaster and she said that she also had to clean up dog poo this morning. I just hope it doesn’t happen too often.

  
When I got home I took Milo for a run. I figured that beagles are used to hunt foxes so they must be able to run. He was much easier to run with than I had expected and he kept up a fairly good pace (around 8 min per mile) without stopping too often to sniff lampposts. He did better than Dominic, who couldn’t quite keep up. We only went about three quarters of a mile because I wasn’t sure how much the dog could cope with and it was pretty hot out.

I took the dog home then went back out to do my proper run. I just went along the prom. I heard somebody say “it’s like being on holiday” and it was. The weather was so lovely and there were loads of people walking along the promenade. I have never seen so many people on the beach at New Brighton.

I was going pretty well with a stiff breeze in my face. I slowed down a bit through New Brighton but I think this was mainly due to having to dodge people strolling along. Why are people incapable of walking in a straight line? Children are a nightmare. You think that you know where they are going to go and suddenly they will dart off in another direction – usually right under your feet.

I picked up a bit of speed coming back with the wind behind me and finished really strong, Splits were 7:32, 7:42, 7:35, 7:22, 7:02. The last mile is more the speed that I feel I should comfortably be going at for the full five miles but at least I’m making progress.

I did the Nike Training Club workout when I got back. It was called Dynamic Yoga by Leah Kim. I thought it would be impossible (and some parts were) but the exercises were so well explained that I felt it was possibly the best workout that I have done on the app. I struggled with all the side planks at the end but more because my wrists are so puny than because my core is weak – although it is!

  
Naomi appears to have been playing “nursery” all day and her “children” have been drawing copious drawings – now stuck all over the wall. She wanted to make something for Grandad’s birthday tonight (can’t say what in case he reads this). We needed something from the supermarket for it but, when we got there, there was a sign saying “Closed due to power failure”! Looks like the present might be late. Sorry Grandad.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 12, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
