runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

9.4 miles and pizza

I once read a book by a man called Jeff Grabosky who ran across America. If I remember correctly, he didn’t have a support crew so he pushed all his stuff in a three-wheeled baby buggy. What I remember particularly about this book is that Jeff ate a lot of pizza. He seemed to be continually eating pizza. He must have had pizza every single day of that run across America. I’m sure that wasn’t the main message of the book but it is the thing that has stuck with me. I think in fact the book was called something like Running with God across America so there was, no doubt, a more spiritual aspect to it!

I could have gone to the park for the parkrun this morning but timings would have been a bit tight and I really didn’t feel like rushing around first thing this morning. Also, I really wanted to get some miles in. So, after breakfast, I headed over to the Wirral Country Park at Thurstaston to run along the Wirral Way.


My intention was to run 9 miles. Last time I ran towards Parkgate so I thought I’d run towards West Kirby today. The path is basically a disused railway line. It has the potential to be boring (long, straight, flat path) but it is anything but boring. The surface is great to run on and although a lot of the path is tree-lined, occasionally it opens up to fantastic vitas across the Dee Estuary with Wales in the distance.


It was a little under 3 miles from the car park to West Kirby, which meant that when I got back to the car I’d run less then 6 miles. So I ran another two miles along the path in the direction of Parkgate until there’s a bit where the path goes onto the road.

I have to admit that I did begin to tire after 7 or 8 miles but I still kept under 8 min per mile for the slowest mile with an average pace of 7:43 per mile.

I need to do more of these long runs in order to build up some stamina for the cross country season so I suspect I might be out on the Wirral Way a few more times.


By the time I’d got back home and done some stretching exercises that were on the Nike Training Club schedule (I still can’t see how a cat stretch is possible and my toes seemed a long way away on the pike) it was lunchtime.

I’m with Jeff Grabosky, pretty much the best food after a long run has got to be pizza. The mixture of carbohydrate, protein and fat just about hits the spot. So a trip to Pizza Express in New Brighton seemed like an excellent idea.


The kids loved it too, even though they hadn’t actually run anywhere. Mind you, Dominic did make up for it later. He went out with Peter to take the dog for a walk. Sometime later they still hadn’t come back. I wondered if the dog had run off again (to listen to that story click here). But all was well, they were just having such a good time on the beach running with the dog.

Good job I didn’t go to the park run this morning. I would have been soundly beaten by a girl who ran 18:12. I can only actually run that fast in my dreams. So, my Birkenhead parkrun female course record lasted just 1 measly week! I am going to have to train very hard to get it back or more likely invent time travel and become 20 years younger.

3 comments on “9.4 miles and pizza

  1. niki
    August 15, 2015

    ah! I used to visit West Kirby quite regularly, and remember running along this little path that kind of goes out into the sea? I remember the views across to Wales…

    Like

    • runmaggiecooper
      August 15, 2015

      Yes, it’s really nice and if you want you can run bits right on the coast.

      Liked by 1 person

      • niki
        August 15, 2015

        I love running along the coast, so I miss living close to the sea. But I’m making the most of being coastal this week.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
