runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Jumping long

I had less interaction with people on the train today than yesterday – this was a good thing. Nobody sat in the place where the bikes can be stored and no mad people tried to communicate with me on my way home.

I thought I might get wet on my bike but I managed to avoid the rain. By the time I was going out for my run though, the rain had started and it didn’t look all that nice outside.

The kids were playing in my room when I went to change for my run and Daniel had mostly disappeared under the duvet.

  
He was saying “I am speed”. This is a quote from the film, Cars, which he really likes. I wish I was ‘speed’ but unfortunately I’m more ‘plodding’ still. One day, one day.

So, as it was raining, I went to plod on the treadmill as I don’t like getting wet. I did 5 miles at 7:30 per mile pace.

I also did the Nike Training Club app workout which was the one that reminds me of a ballet routine.

  
Naomi joined me for the Donkey kick combo. She said, “I’m not sure if I’m doing this right.” I know how she feels!

While I was at work, the rest of the family went to New Brighton. Daniel said that they did races on the beach. Under further questioning it seems that they ran for a bit, jumped on the sand and fell over – sounds like the long jump to me.

Talking of the long jump. Thank goodness for my iPhone! I was able to keep up to date with the World Championship long jump over lunch thanks to the iaaf website and my iPhone. What a fantastic result for Greg Rutherford! I was so excited even though I was only watching the results come up on the screen rather than watching the live action. It was like watching the football scores on the videprinter. Anyway, it was still great, although not as great as seeing him live in the Olympic stadium in London (I was there on the special night – although right in the back row so technically I couldn’t see him that well).

  
The more observant amongst you may notice that this photo isn’t actually of Greg Rutherford in the 2012 Olympic Games long jump but is in fact Chris Tomlinson – but at least it’s a British long-jumper. But for the less observant, this is Greg Rurherford on his way to Olympic gold!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
