runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

I need more sleep

I can’t believe that another week has flown by. I’ve done pretty well with the training but I’m really, really tired. I made a podcast with Peter yesterday and we talked about some of my training over the last few weeks and how I’ve been doing using the Nike Training Club app to supplement my running. You can hear the podcast here it’s only about 10 min long.

It’s actually been a pretty intense week. Not specifically the running and other training but it was my first week back at work after a week long break and that is always a bit tough, made more so by the fact that we were short-staffed. I have to be at work by 7.15am so that usually means getting up at 5.45 and leaving the house by 6.30. I’d just got used to sleeping in until 8.30 so it has been a bit of a shock for my poor body. I’ve also been cycling to the station and then cycling to work at the other end. In total it’s probably only 20 min cycling each way but it all adds up.

When I got home from work today, I was really tired but I knew that I ought to run so I just did 1.5 mile along the river and turned around to come back, so 3 mile total. It was really sunny but not too hot, this was probably because it was also pretty windy. The average pace was 7.37 per mile. Although this is nothing special, it’s quite encouraging that even on an easy run, my pace is getting a little quicker as the weeks go on. I would love to be comfortably be running under 7 min per mile again though.

It’s interesting how much a lack of sleep affects training. It changes everything but obviously, in particular, how you feel physically and your mental attitude towards the training. You can’t underestimate the importance of sufficient sleep. It’s just as important as a long run, intervals or stretching.

  
When I got back from the run, Naomi wanted to make banana doodles. I wanted to do my workout. Between exercises I found the cocktail sticks and she set about her design, then she ate the banana. It isn’t the kind of artwork that gets preserved.

The workout was terrible. Perhaps I should have done banana doodles with Naomi instead. The workout was a set of yoga exercises. The worst thing is that at the beginning of the workout it says “the best thing about yoga is that anybody can do it.” This is untrue. The exercises are physically impossible for somebody with my muscle inflexibility. It was demoralising. I had to adapt – a lot. Thankfully, this particular workout doesn’t feature on the schedule again in the remaining weeks. However, I was reminded that I have neglected my stretching and now my hamstrings are really inflexible again. So add that to sleeping in my list of things to do.

3 comments on “I need more sleep

  1. niki
    August 28, 2015

    I was going to ask you about that app, so I’ll give the podcast a listen later. Love the banana doodle idea. Definitely going to try that, too!

    Like

    • runmaggiecooper
      August 28, 2015

      I used the schedule called Find your Fast (you can google it) which uses the workouts from the Nike Training Club app but I run many more miles than suggested as it is very light on actual running.

      Liked by 1 person

      • niki
        August 28, 2015

        will look. Thanks! 🙂 I think you’re running at a slightly different (ie much higher!!) level than me… but it’d be good to see what’s there.

        Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 28, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
