runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Another mile

It feels like the last day of the holidays, well it practically is as the kids go back to school on Monday and Sundays are never days off. I didn’t want to waste the day just sitting around the house, but first there was running to be done.

It was the third of my timed miles in the 12 week schedule that I’m doing. The previous two (from a standing start on the treadmill on a 1% gradient – if you are interested in the technical details) were 5:54 and 5:40. I actually felt fairly comfortable at 5:40 pace so I was pretty sure I could go quicker.

So, off I went to the gym, slightly nervous but up for the challenge. I started at what seemed like a pretty fast pace and wondered if I wasn’t quite so up for this mile after all. Perhaps I should have stayed in bed. The distance seems to move on at snail’s pace while I felt I was going at anything but snail’s pace. I had to remind myself that it was only going to be for about 5 min or so. Surely I can run for 5 min.

I wasn’t entirely sure that I wouldn’t actually have to give up after about 0.6 of a mile. It was only just over half way and it was hard work. Sometimes I wonder if it’s just the boredom of the treadmill that plays tricks with your mind or whether it really is the physical effort. 

I’d set the treadmill for 1 mile so that I didn’t have to worry about stopping it but it still seemed to be going pretty fast when the distance had reached zero. It did finally stop though and the time was 5:29, which I was very happy with.

  
I seem to have run an extra 0.02 of a mile. It doesn’t sound like much but it’s a long way if you think you’ve finished. So, it may be that my mile was actually slightly quicker than 5:29 in reality. It’s still not the same as doing it on the track but I did feel like I’d been in a race with that burning lung feeling for the rest of the day.

Luckily, the rest of the day was fairly relaxing. We went to the pirate ship on New Brighton beach.

  
The kids made sand castles on the beach while we relaxed.

  
Daniel did some running up and down and falling in the sand.

  
And then he went to investigate the pirate ship with Peter.

  
The tide was coming in and it was in far enough for paddling before we left. It was absolutely freezing though. Perhaps I could have had an ice bath in the Mersey after my run this morning.

  
I probably should have gone to the parkrun this morning, the weather was quite nice and I could have got there in time but I’m glad I did my mile. There isn’t another timed mile in the schedule, the next is 2 miles timed, which will be interesting but I’d also like to know whether I’ve improved over 5km too. I might have to make the effort and actually get up early enough one Saturday in the next few weeks to go to the parkrun and see how I go.

3 comments on “Another mile

  1. niki
    September 5, 2015

    oh…. my…. gosh!! I just can’t imagine running that fast. Well done for knocking such a lot off the last times 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
