runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Baking Day

We had our second Kids Worship at church today. This time there was no baptism so not quite do many people but it was great to have a good bunch of kids.

  
Our kids were chilling out on the new bean bags before we got started. I’m not sure what’s going to happen if other people’s kids actually want to sit on them too.

  
We made shakers out of old Yazoo bottles filled with lentils. They were pretty good and the kids enjoyed making them. There was plenty of shaking (in between small children trying to eat dried lentils out of the bottles) during the songs. Everybody had fun and hopefully we’ll soon be able to attract a bigger crowd.

Since I wasn’t running today, I had time for a spot of baking. I made a tea cake and then I realised that I had a gap before the mini pizzas we were making would be ready so I quickly made some flapjacks and bunged them in the oven.

  
I haven’t tried the tea cake yet but the flapjacks were great. The kids helped (sort of) with the pizzas. Dominic’s were very strange shapes and then they got stuck to the table so he ended up with some pizza parcels. 

  
Naomi doesn’t look very happy but I think she’s just concentrating. The pizzas were OK but the flapjacks were better!

  
Dominic got Tom and Jerry out for a bit. They were running round the dining room. Luckily there isn’t anywhere that they can get lost or hide there. They were much more adventurous than a pair we got several years ago who just stood still in the middle of the room for ages not able to move because they were scared the first time we got them out of the cage. 

Tomorrow I enter week 9 of my 12 week training schedule. I’m also on the early shift at work so I might be a bit tired. We’ll see how it goes.

Here is the flapjack recipe, it’s dead easy:

  • 100g butter
  • 100g soft brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp golden syrup
  • 300g oats 

Melt the butter with the sugar and syrup in a big saucepan. Mix in the oats. Put into a lined baking tray and cook at 180C/gas mark 4 for 20min.

You can add in raisins or other dried fruit but if I do that then my kids complain!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
