runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Two mile timed run

The spider was gone this morning. Nobody claimed that they had removed it for me. I was looking out of the corner of my eye all day in case it was hiding somewhere in my office or something and I was particularly cautious going up the stairs. It obviously wasn’t dead then!

I am still tired having been on dispensing duty all week. I wasn’t sure whether to do the training tonight but, due to the fact that Dominic was really late coming out of school, I didn’t have much time to ponder whether to go to the gym or not so I just quickly got changed and went across to the run on the treadmill. 

I felt OK warming up so I decided to do the 2 mile timed run although I decided not to do it at full pelt.


As usual, I started from a standing start on a 1% gradient. I felt that I should be able to run 6:30 per mile pace so I started at that speed and gradually got quicker. The final time was 12:24 and I think that the second mile was actually run in about 6:05. I felt OK but it was still hard work however, on a better day I’m sure that I can run closer to or under 6 min mile for that distance. 

It also made me realise that I can run that pace relatively comfortably (well maybe not comfortably but I can do it) so perhaps should stretch myself by going further at that pace another time. However, today was a good benchmark because I know that there is another timed 2 mile run in the schedule before the end of the twelve weeks (I’m now about to go into week 10).

I haven’t run many miles this week. It would be good to get a long run in over the weekend but I’m not sure when I’m going to be able to fit it in as Peter is busy tomorrow and Sunday so that leaves me looking after the kids.

  
Daniel went for an eye test today. He certainly doesn’t seem to be having any difficulty watching CBeebies tonight! Also, it would appear that he didn’t have any difficulty identifying the shapes he had to look at in the clinic. So, the long and short of it is that he can see a good deal better than I can, which is very good news.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
