runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

To run or not to run

I didn’t blog yesterday partly because nothing terribly interesting happened and partly because I got engrossed in The Hunger Games. I started reading the first book at the weekend and had been anxious to read more of it but hadn’t had a chance.

I’d had a busy day and felt that doing an intense interval session was one thing more than my body could cope with. I could have done something simpler, some stretching or yoga or even just a gentle jog but I thought that the best thing was to rest. And anyway The Hunger Games was waiting for me.

Sometimes you have to know your own body and your limitations, if you try to push too far then it’s going to break. But there’s a fine balance between ‘I can’t be bothered to run’ and ‘it’s good for me not to run’. Finding that balance is important if I’m going to stay well and injury free. We talk a bit about this in today’s podcast. (Click here or download from iTunes – Training Tracks with Maggie Cooper).

The book was great. I finally finished it before it got too late but late enough to upset my kids because I didn’t have time to read them a bedtime story and finish the book. I’ve ordered the second book now and I’m hoping it will entertain me on my trip to Hamburg next weekend (that’s if I don’t read it before I go).

Today I did run but nice and easy and only about 4 miles. The weather was beautiful and it was lovely running by the river with the tide nearly in. It wasn’t even that windy.


The T-shirts that the kids painted at the weekend have finally dried. They tried them on, I like Naomi’s flower but really pleased with all of them.


4 comments on “To run or not to run

  1. runandlivehappy
    October 1, 2015

    I Love the Hunger Games books!! If you like them, you should read Divergent (if you haven’t already), I thought it was better than Hunger Games.

    Like

    • runmaggiecooper
      October 1, 2015

      Thanks for the recommendation – I’ll check it out.

      Liked by 1 person

    • runmaggiecooper
      October 6, 2015

      Now you’ve got me started reading the Divergent books too! Luckily I’ve got a lot of travelling coming up so I should be able to get through them and maybe the Hunger Games series without totally ignoring my family.

      Like

      • runandlivehappy
        October 6, 2015

        LOL I ignored my husband when I read them – I couldn’t put them down! I hope you like them!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
