runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Travelling

Daniel cried all the way to the train station. He kept saying “want mummy back, want mummy back”. I have to say that this didn’t make it any easier to say goodbye to the family as I headed to Manchester Airport. Thank goodness I didn’t ask Peter to take me to the airport. I could just about put up with 10 min of tears but a whole hour of them might have convinced me to stay at home.

   
I always imagine that the view you get when you are up above the clouds is what the view would be like in the Arctic. A mass of white stretched out before you. It might not be anything like that and I doubt I will ever find out for real having no desire to go much further north than Liverpool, which is cold enough for me. 

I had to stop over at Frankfurt on the way to Hamburg, there wasn’t a sausage in sight. If I’m not mistaken, this is where Dominic dropped a full cup of hot chocolate. I think they’ve cleared up since then. 

We were all really thirsty on our way through Germany either to or from Poland – I forget which. So, we were pleased to find a drinks machine offering free beverages. Unfortunately only hot beverages, not ideal for small children but better than nothing. We decided that hot chocolate would be the best choice. Drinks from these machines are never really that hot but it was still too hot for Dominic but, instead of giving it back to me or even saying something, he dropped the whole cup on the floor. There was hot chocolate everywhere. 

There was a man helping himself to a drink when this happened and he was both kind and sympathetic to our plight and helped us. As I desparetly attempted to use as many paper napkins as I could find to clean up the mess, he walked off suggesting we leave it to the domestic staff. As I looked up, I saw the splatters of hot chocolate on the bottom of his white trousers and felt a pang of guilt. Should I say something? I let him go. Actually, it wasn’t quite as bad as the time on the underground train when I accidentally sprayed coffee on the back of somebody’s white jacket, but that’s another story.

   
So now I’m in Hamburg and safely in my hotel room. My reservations about the hotel weren’t totally unjustified. It is on the edge of an industrial area and there isn’t much of interest around. The main thing is that I found the supermarket and so have food. Actually, the hotel is fine and at least I won’t have to be polite to anybody at breakfast.

   
 
I didn’t have time to go to the conference centre this evening so I’ll have to get their early tomorrow. No chance of running either as I wasn’t really prepared to go out running in a foreign city in the dark. Hopefully I will be able to find my way to the park tomorrow morning.

One comment on “Travelling

  1. Moritz
    October 10, 2015

    Hamburg is great for runners, so I’m sure you’ll find a good route. Enjoy the city! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
