runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Round and round the block

I actually slept for a decent length of time but then woke feeling like I now have the cold that the rest of the family have. I didn’t want to miss the opportunity to run though and I didn’t have to be at the conference all that early so I put on my running stuff and headed out if the door.

I decided that the best thing to do was to simply run round the block. That way, if I felt really awful then I was never far from the hotel. I started off nice and easy. The loop was a little over half a mile so I thought I might go round a couple of times, just to have at least got a run in. However, I felt OK and was gradually getting quicker. In the end I did just 3 miles (average pace 7:43 per mile) but I might have gone further but for the fact that I kept going past the same people and was beginning to feel a bit embarrassed about why I was running so many times round a very short loop.

The cycle ride in was somewhat more complicated than yesterday. On the one hand, I was going faster but this actually caused me to go slower because the iPhone, presumably thinking that I was going too fast for a pedestrian, kept trying to switch to ‘driving instructions’ so I kept having to stop and tell it to use walking directions. Then, because I was going too fast, it would  suddenly shout at me “TURN LEFT, TURN LEFT” as I whooshed past the turning. I began to wonder if it had developed a personality by the time I reached Berlin Tor U-Bahn and that it had really got the hump with me as it told me to turn right when I knew it was left because I recognised where I was. It must have taken me at least 40 min to get to the cycle racks close to the conference centre.

  
Tonight I came back on the U-Bahn instead. I didn’t fancy trying to find my way in the dark because, although I’m slightly more confident that I could find the route, it is one thing being lost in daylight and quite another being lost in the dark.

  
I was late back because I stopped for a pizza with Michelle. It was great to catch up with her and the pizza was pretty good too.

I spent most of the day in meetings but at least it was all fairly productive. I also spoke to a lot of people about synthesising Ga-68 radiopharmaceuticals. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a conference where I’ve spent quite so much time in the exhibition hall talking to reps about products. 

Tomorrow, provided I feel well enough, I plan to run round the harbour area. Michelle kindly said I can run from her hotel and use her shower so I hope that I will not be too full of cold to do that. I’ve heard that it is really nice and it’s got to be better than running round the block!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , .
