runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Home sweet home

It was debatable whether I would get home. There was a total computer failure at Hamburg airport meaning that nobody could check in. After standing around for about an hour, I was finally issued with this boarding pass.

  
I was a bit sceptical because I was flying to Manchester via Copenhagen and I wasn’t entirely sure what would happen when we got to Copenhagen. There was a guy in the queue behind me who had also been to the conference. It turns out that he trained at my hospital and is now working in Scotland – it’s a small world.

Anyway this Nuclear Medicine colleague was travelling the same route as me but then going on to Scotland. I lost him between check-in and the departure gate but when I got there it seems that the computers were working again and I was able to get my proper boarding pass.

My colleague, however, wasn’t so lucky. For some reason he wasn’t on the passenger list and the last I saw of him, he was making desperate phone calls to try to get the flight. I think he’s still in Hamburg!

  
We flew towards the setting sun the whole way and landed safely in Manchester. Strangely, it’s actually warmer and drier in Manchester than it was in Hamburg. So now all I’ve got to do is to get to Liverpool and the across the Mersey and I’ll be home. I hope Peter bought some milk!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 14, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
