runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Problems with small balls

I’m not going to lie to you, not a lot happened today. It really wasn’t an exciting day. The most exciting thing I did was to run some very bad thin layer chromatography strips to use as examples for our training day next week. Yes, it was that kind of day.

I’m not running for a few days, partly to get over my cold and partly to just have a bit of a rest. I’m going to write out a schedule for the next four weeks which is likely to include one or two cross country races. I’m not sure that I’m quite fit enough for that but I have had a few decent weeks of training in the preceding months so it might not take too long to regain my fitness – that’s what I’m hoping anyway.

 I made some nobbly bobbly shortbread. By the time I remembered to take a photo a fair amount had already been eaten. Daniel liked them but when I tried to take a photo of him eating one he turned his back and refused to be photographed.

I think the oven was a bit hot so it is a bit crisper than it ought to be but still pretty good.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 125g butter
  • 55g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 180g plain flour
  • 50g chocolate chips
  • Some 100s and 1000s (those little sugar balls)

Method:

  1. Put the oven on 180C
  2. Cream the butter, sugar and vanilla
  3. Add the flour to make a dough
  4. Mix in the chocolate chips
  5. Roll out the dough to about 1cm thick
  6. Cut the dough into squares and put it onto greased and lined baking tray
  7. Put in the fridge for 30 min
  8. Put in the oven for 15-20 min
  9. Sprinkle on the 100s and 1000s while the dough is still a bit soft after the shortbread comes out of the oven

Actually the 100s and 1000s (the nobbly bits) go everywhere. If you can actually get them to stay on top of the biscuits then you are doing well. It helps if you push them in a bit otherwise they’ll just roll off and you’ll have tiny little balls everywhere.  To be honest, you’re probably better off forgetting about the nobbly bits altogether and just calling it chocolate chip shortbread!

If you missed the podcast yesterday then here’s the link http://www.spreaker.com/user/4504830/running-in-hamburg

2 comments on “Problems with small balls

  1. Steve Hailstone
    October 17, 2015

    “A bit crisper ” is just right

    Like

  2. honestlylucy
    October 17, 2015

    I can’t lie, I hit the like button before I’d even read this purely because of the title. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2015 by and tagged , , , , .
