runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Cake sale

It must be the day for cake sales. I popped down to the Nuclear Medicine department today and the tea room was full of cakes. Somebody had made this triple layer chocolate cake, it was amazing. They were collecting money for the R-charity (more of that later). I didn’t have any money on me but I persuaded a company rep who was visiting (who I’ve known for about 20 years) to pay for my cake! Win-win. Then, when I went to pick the kids up from school, they also had a cake sale!

  
The kids had bought that many cakes that I was convinced that they wouldn’t need anything more to eat all evening. Then Dominic wanted to go back and buy some honey pancakes. Nothing like healthy eating.

We are having a new hospital built in Liverpool that will be ready some time in 2017. The  R-charity is collecting money for our new hospital so that we can buy new equipment. They are trying to raise some money for my department so that we can get some better equipment to make new radiopharmaceuticals to diagnose and treat patients – so I’m keen that they reach their target of £10 million and then we can get the new equipment. There are several tracers that I want to make for diagnosing different types of cancer.

The charity want to know what our department is going to do to raise money. Well, I think I’ve done my part – I ate cake, and very nice it was too. However, I think that they were hoping that we would do something more like organise our own cake sale, walk over hot coals or go for a swim in the freezing cold Irish Sea on New Year’s Day. I fancied cycling round Burma but you need to raise £4000 in sponsorship and I’d be lucky to raise 1/10th of that. After the cake sale somebody suggested a sponsored slim! It is proving difficult to find something that we can do as a team – suggestions welcome.

I failed to run today. Well, it was raining – need I say more? I felt pretty drained after yesterday’s run and decided that I was better off resting than running. I really want to get over this cold. I actually do feel better today than yesterday – must have been that chocolate cake.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
