runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Social Media and the Marathon

I made a carrot cake and a podcast about running today but I didn’t run. I still have my cold and I figured that if I couldn’t run then I might as well eat! Also, my work colleagues were moaning that I didn’t take in any of the chocolate cake. If they’re lucky, I might take some carrot cake in tomorrow.

I had similar timing problems to when I made the chocolate cake (maybe because it was from the same set of recipes in the Times newspaper). It ended up being in the oven for twice as long as the recipe suggested. Is it my oven? Is it just that the person who wrote the recipe has a very hot oven? Well, as always, it’s whether it tastes OK that really matters and it tastes pretty good although my icing is rather sloppy for some reason – maybe it will set by the morning.

  
The podcast was made in response to an amusing YouTube video that one of my Facebook friends posted Click here to view it The title probably tells it all “First Person to Run a Marathon Without Talking About It” and it’s really about the fact that pretty much everybody who runs a marathon feels the need to share every detail of their training and the race on social media. Is anybody really interested in any of that stuff? Well, Peter and I discuss this in this week’s podcast Click here to listen to it

If you’re interested in the carrot cake (Peter also confirms that it is entirely edible) then here’s the recipe, the last instruction being the most important:

Cake ingredients:

  • 150g caster sugar
  • 150g light brown sugar (I didn’t have any so I used dark brown sugar instead)
  • 3 eggs
  • 300ml sunflower oil
  • 300g self-raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp mixed spice
  • 300g grated carrots
  • 70g pine nuts (actually I didn’t have any so these are missing)

For the  icing:

  • 300g cream cheese
  • 100g icing sugar, sifted (if you can be bothered, I just chucked it in)
  • 50g softened butter
  • Freshly squeezed juice of 1 large (in my case tiny because that’s all they had in the shop) lime
  • Grated lime zest to decorate

Method:

  1. Put the oven on 160C/gas mark 3
  2. Whisk the egg and sugars together and then gradually add the oil and the vanilla extract
  3. Mix the dry ingredients together and then add to the egg mixture. Add the carrots and fold everything in together.
  4. Put it in 2x20cm round tins
  5. Put it in the oven for about 25 min (or maybe twice as long!) until the skewer comes out clean
  6. For the icing, mix everything together and then spoon it out onto the first layer and pop the second layer on and ice that too. Decorate with the lime zest.
  7. Eat it. Take some to work for your friends. Feel bad about eating too much. Take up running. Post your progress on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 29, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
