runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Not the wet Met League

I was meant to be running in the Met League at Stevenage but I didn’t go. It wasn’t due to the fact that it was pouring with rain (although it would have been miserable to have to come all the way back on the train in wet clothes) but due to the fact that I have hardly run over the last month or so and what I have done hasn’t been high quality. I would have been jogging round at best and it would have been highly discouraging.

I’m hoping that I am now well and truly on the road to recovery, although my muscles still feel achy in the way that they do when you have residual infection in your body. 

It was pouring with rain when I went to the gym this morning – which is why I went to the gym. I ran 5 miles (1% gradient) in 37:39 while listening a podcast about running after having a baby. It said it could take a year or two for your body to be back to normal after having a baby. Three and a half years later I wonder if I will ever be running like I did before I had Daniel. It was sunny when I came out of the gym! Maybe I should have waited a bit.

  
After lunch we went to Bidston Moss. It wasn’t raining when we decided to go. By the time we got into the car it had begun to rain again. I think that living here in the North West of England, we’re just going to have to get used to the rain. 

  
Bidston Moss is pretty close to us and I wondered if it might be a good place to run. It isn’t all that big but it would certainly make and alternative to running up and down the prom although I’d have to drive there first as it is a bit too far away to run to, unless I was doing a long run. It might also be good for doing some long interval reps as you could run loops of the cycle path.

  
We all enjoyed it, in spite of getting a bit wet. Good to get out of the house even when the weather is a bit miserable.

I made veggie fritters for tea. They were unexpectedly popular. I can’t believe that it can be that simple to get sweet potato, parsnip and courgette into my kids! Actually Daniel wouldn’t eat them but I can’t expect miracles. The recipe is from Abel and Cole.

  
Ingredients:

  • About 2-3 mugs of grated veg (use anything like carrots, potatoes, courgettes etc.)
  • 1 egg
  • Spices (I used some garam masala and some chilli but any spices will do)
  • Garlic clove (I use garlic granules)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2-1 mug plain flour
  • Oil for frying

Method:

  • Beat the egg
  • Add the grated veg, garlic, spices, salt and pepper and the flour and mix it all together (if it looks too wet add more flour)
  • Scoop into balls and fry, squashing the fritters down. You should be able to fit 3-4 in the frying pan at a time. Fry for a couple of minutes on each side until golden.
  • Serve with tomato ketchup (kids) or cucumber raita and mango chutney.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2015 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
