runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Only 10 min

The workout today is only meant to be a 10 min run but whether I will actually get to complete this simple workout is another matter. I might join in with the ‘fat dad fat kid challenge’ with the rest of the family if nothing else but my aim was really to do a proper interval session! Maybe I will be able to squeeze something in before I go to bed. However, it was probably a mistake to have a glass of wine with my beef stew for tea.

I woke up at 1:30 this morning and realised that I had left the slow cooker on. Whether the realisation that I had left it on had slowly seeped through from my sub-conscious to wake me or whether something else woke me, I don’t know, but at least it saved us having dried out stew to eat.

I was given Theo Randall’s ‘My Simple Italian’ for Christmas and thought I’d try out one of the recipes. It seems that almost every recipe has dried porcini mushrooms in it. Who has dried porcini in their cupboard?! This recipe required 70g of the dried mushrooms. I had a look in Tesco and found they cost £2.99 for 40g!! I think that’s out of my price range for something that the kids are going to pick off the plate and put to one side. 

  
So, minus porcini mushrooms, I made beef and porcini stew with rosemary and tomato – except I found I had no rosemary either! So, here’s the recipe for beef and mushroom stew with sage, thyme and tomato.

  • 100g mushrooms chopped
  • 500g stewing steak cubed
  • 3 tbsp oil
  • 3 sticks of celery finely chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic chopped 
  • 1 small red pepper chopped
  • 2 small-medium onions finely chopped
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried safe
  • 1 x 400g can chopped tomatoes
  • 250 mL red wine
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Season the beef with salt and pepper. Heat half the oil in a pan then brown the beef. Set the beef to one side then add the rest of the oil and the celery, onion, red pepper and herbs. Cook for about 5 min until the vegetables are softened. Add the mushrooms then the wine and tomatoes. Bring to the boil then transfer to the slow cooker with the beef and cook on low for about 6 hours (or somewhat longer if you go to bed and forget about it). Alternatively you can cook in the oven on 180C for about 2 hours.

Apart from not running, eating too much beef stew and drinking too much red wine, we made another episode of my running podcast. Why not listen here.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .
