runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Running but not to Runcorn

I did actually manage to get a run in yesterday – and it went OK. I only did 20 min on the treadmill but I went at a reasonable pace (7:24 per mile) which wasn’t bad since I started off quite conservatively.

What’s more, I even managed to run this morning before catching the train to Birmingham. It was only an easy 2 miles but I also did an arms and abs workout and then I rode my bike the two miles to the station to catch the train.

Every time that I use my bike after a long period of not using it, I find that I seem to have lost the ability to cycle and it seems like very hard work indeed. I wonder how I ever managed to cycle in the impossibly high gear that I left it in the last time I rode it and regret my period of inactivity. However, if you hadn’t noticed, it has been raining rather a lot and this, to me, seems like a reasonable excuse for not cycling. I fear it may be raining on my return to the Wirral tonight and I may get very wet cycling home.

It was nice this morning though. The sky was red as we set off from Liverpool Line Street and the Runcorn bridge looked quite picturesque. 

  
I thought I might be able to get a good shot as we went over the bridge but it ended up a bit blurred.

  
Tomorrow I have to set off a bit earlier so I’m not sure if I will be able to run before I go or even when I get back but I will try – where there’s a will there’s a way. However, I think that I really need to be running further and faster in general to be fit enough to do any proper races and I’m really not sure how I’m going to do that. I think I need a cunning plan.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
