runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Treadmill failure

I’ve been trying to run a reasonable distance on the treadmill on Sunday mornings when I get up. It seemed like a good time to get a decent length run in but I can’t leave the house because Peter is busy with services so I’m on my own with the kids. The treadmill seemed the perfect solution to my problems of fitting in a decent Sunday run – and it has been.

However, today, it had a bit of a fit on me and stopped completely after about 25 min. It hadn’t been plain sailing up to that point either. First Dominic wanted me to help him on the computer and then Naomi wanted breakfast! So, I managed an interrupted 25 min and then came to a grinding halt. The treadmill did start again but kept going faster and slower, perhaps the belt is slipping or something. Anyway, hopefully Peter can sort it out, he’s better at that sort of thing than me.

There’s no snow in Wallasey but it was cold and windy as we walked to church. The rest of the congregation were complaining that it wasn’t much warmer inside than outside. However, in the Kids Worship we learnt the actions to some of the songs so there was no chance of getting cold and I had to take a couple of layers off with all the jumping around. I wonder sometimes if it is just a disguised aerobics class rather than a service. I made up for the calories burnt though as Andrew had bought in a chocolate cake and somebody else had mince pies and chocolate decorations from their Christmas tree which adequately supplemented my meagre morning’s breakfast and the added exercise.

I wasn’t content with 25 min jogging on the treadmill so I actually went outside to run, in spite of the inclement conditions. I ran to Bidston Moss. It was just over 2 miles there and, despite the large number of side roads that I had to cross, it wasn’t a bad route. I decided to do a circuit of Bidston Moss to see how far it was round as I think it would make a good circuit for long reps. However, my plans were thwarted by a huge puddle about 3/4 of the way round. I would have needed wellies to get through that puddle and even then, I think that there would have been a risk that the water would have gone over the top of them. I had not choice but to turn around and go back the other way round the loop.

IMG_3261

I’ve only run more than 6 miles in one go half a dozen times in the last 6 months so I began to suffer, especially when I had to head home into the cold wind. The route turned out to be nearly 7 miles by the time I got home and around 10 miles in total for the day, if you include the treadmill miles. I’ll probably suffer in tomorrow’s session with Wirral AC but it is good to have got a decent number of miles in the book.

I used my new TomTom watch on my run today. I have, over the years, had a few GPS watches and I have to say that this was both the cheapest and the best so far! The main point in its favour are that it finds the GPS signal pretty quickly. I don’t know how long I have spent standing in the cold waiting for my watch to find the signal in the past. I have actually given up before now as it has taken so long but this watch found me almost before I’d got out of the gate from our house. Another thing is that the display is big and clear so, even with my poor eyesight, I can see where I’m going. Also, it isn’t too bulky, I could happily wear it for any run, not just if I was particularly interested in the time/distance/pace. I can’t say the same either for my old Garmin or the Nike watch. I might even go so far to say that I could get away with wearing it as a normal watch although perhaps its still a little too big. Perhaps the newer Garmin or Nike watches are less bulky but I don’t think I would have got one for such a good price.

IMG_3700

I also like the way that the watch links with the app on the iPhone. It seems to pretty accurately map the route and the distance compares well with the distance measured on the mapping program that I use on Dailymile.

So, maybe I will try to run outside a bit more (provided it isn’t actually raining) rather than just running on the treadmill. I think I need to get out more!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 17, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
