runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Trying to avoid the wind

I didn’t go to the session with the club today. My legs felt really tired from all the running at the weekend. Added to that, Daniel was sick and I didn’t want to risk pushing myself too far with a hard session only to come home and catch whatever he has. So, I took the radical step of running to New Brighton instead in spite of the fact that it was actually raining when I took this decision.

I wasn’t sure whether it was really windy or whether it was just that the wind was at my back as I ran along the banks of the Mersey. When I turned round at New Brighton I found that the wind had been pushing me along. In spite of that, I still wasn’t going all that fast and I knew that it would feel like a long way home. I was glad that I hadn’t gone to the session, it would have been miserable on tired legs.

In an attempt to get out of the wind, I decided to go up one of the side roads from the river to the main road. I must have chosen the longest side road possible as it went onwards and upwards and I began to regret my decision. When I got to the top, I was far from convinced that the wind was any less ferocious than it had been by the river but I did have the advantage that, after climbing up from the river, the route back home had now become very slightly downhill. It was also a nice change of scenery from the relentless promenade too.

The route was about 1/4 miles further than if I had just gone back along the promenade and most of that must have been the extra distance up the hill. I’ll have to have a look at the map and see if there is a better road to come up that will mean that I can do a proper loop without having to double back on myself. I like running along the river but it was nice to run along the road for a bit too.

I also decided to enter a marathon. I need some sort of goal this year with my running and, much as I like parkrun, running 5km is more of a means to an end rather than an end in itself for me. So, I decided to enter the Nottingham marathon. I’ve run it before but I think that they have changed the route since then. However, I suspect that I will still be familiar with parts of the course having studied for my PhD in the city. It isn’t until the end of September so hopefully I have time to extend my mileage and build up some fitness. Well, it’s something to look forward to.

IMG_3731.JPG

Naomi made this penguin out of a box yesterday. I thought it was quite cute.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
