runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

Hill reps

I know that you will find this hard to believe but I don’t think it actually rained today. I wasn’t too optimistic first thing. They said on the radio that you could see five planets in the sky all at the same time today (in fact apparently until 20th Feb) so I went outside to see what I could see. I could see cloud and little else! I couldn’t see a single star in the sky and I couldn’t even see the moon! However, later in the day, the sky had cleared and it turned out to be a beautiful day. It was a bit of a shock to see blue sky.

I’ve been doing this thing this week where, instead of walking the mile from my kids’ school (where I park my car) to work, I decided to run the mile to work instead. This, I hope, will solve two problems 1) I am almost always late picking up the kids and have to rush because I always think I can fit in more in the last few minutes before I leave work than I actually can so by running I can save myself a few minutes and not have to walk like I’m racing in the Olympics or something and 2) I get some free training miles in.

So, today, by the time I got home, I had already run 2 miles and was already changed and ready to do some proper training. My original intention was to do some interval training on the treadmill but I decided that it would actually be more fun to run outside. I’ve been wanting to do a hill session on the slope that goes down to the river for ages but either my knees hurt or I wasn’t really up to it or some other excuse prevented me doing this session.

IMG_1847

It really was quite fun. I started at the bottom of the slope and ran up to the top as fast as I reasonably could and then I walked down to the bottom. Then I did it again, and again, and again, and… well you get the idea. I decided to just keep going for 20 min. During that time I had 2 races with cyclists (won one, lost one) and I only had to bail out of one rep due to a loose dog. In total I did 17 hill reps! They were pretty consistent too, all about 20 seconds. I’m not sure exactly how long the hill is but it’s pretty steep. It must be about 75 metres I guess. Interestingly, the fastest one was when I was racing the cyclist and I lost when I managed to run 18.6 seconds – just goes to show what a good bit of competition can do but I’m not sure I could have run all 17 at that speed.

I normally try to use photos taken on the day for this blog but I didn’t have a camera with me and it was getting dark anyway so this photo of the hill was taken in the autumn of 2014. It doesn’t quite show the full length of it and it definitely seems steeper than it looks when you run up it!

So, tomorrow morning I will try to have a look for the five planets again – maybe it will even be clear first thing. I’m not a great astronomer but here are some handy hints which might help me Skywatchers to get special treat. They say that the planets will be visible about 45 min before sunrise so I might have to look out of the window at work rather than before I leave since sunrise isn’t until 8:13 and I am meant to start work at 7:15!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 20, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , .
