runmaggiecooper

The life of a runner, mother, radiopharmacist and vicar's wife – that's me!

There’s a mouse in the house

Here’s a list of some things that I’d rather not share my bedroom with

  • Spiders
  • Cockroaches
  • Snakes
  • A drunk husband
  • Mosquitos
  • Smelly socks
  • Shoes with dog poo on them
  • Fish and chip wrappers
  • Ash trays
  • Bees or wasps
  • Mice

I’m sure that there are many others (especially people) that I could rather not share a bedroom with but you get the idea.

Really, my most loathed creatures are cockroaches. I know that some can be very beautiful (I shared a bathroom with a particularly pretty one in Uganda) but by and large, I’d rather avoid them.

I would rather not take a shower/bath than to share a bath with a spider. I would rather not go into a bathroom at all if there’s a spider in it. I know this is irrational, the spider will do me no harm, but I would have great difficulty sleeping knowing there was a spider in the bedroom.

I was watching the TV in the hotel room in Amsterdam last night and, out of the corner of my eye, I caught a movement. I thought it was just the light from the TV. Then it happened again, the faintest of movement down under the table. I looked  down. 

Imagine my surprise when I saw a mouse!

No sooner had we locked eyes than the animal scurried along the skirting board and then shot off across the room darting under the bed.

I stood on the bed like one of those crazy women in cartoons. All I was lacking was the broom to bash the mouse with. Then I realised how stupid it was to be standing on my bed late at night in a hotel room in Amsterdam.

I go down to reception. The two guys on reception are just about to head out the door but seeing me coming, they stop and ask if everything is alright. They are very polite. “There’s a mouse in my room”. They look at me sympathetically.

We return to reception. It’s clear that they aren’t sure what to do. They make a half- hearted attempt to see if another room is available. They attempt to reassure me.

  
They tell me that there are a lot of mice because we are by the canal. They both have mice in their homes. Some of them are quite big. If there is a mouse in my room then it is most likely that there will be mice in other rooms. You can hear them running around at night. You should see the mice on garbage day. If you go out at night you can see armies of mice marching down the road. Even in the reception there are often several mice eating the crumbs from the croissants. They sound very reassuring. I am now petrified.

They offer to come with me to my room and sit with me until I fall asleep. I reason that it is only a mouse, at least it isn’t a spider or a cockroach and return to my room.

I hear the sounds of people locking up their bikes, cars driving down the street, the clock marking the hour, somebody coming in the front door, a plane coming in to land. I hear no scurrying of tiny feet and eventually I fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 27, 2016 by and tagged , , , , , , , .
